The Sun Singer's Travels

Malcolm R. Campbell's World


From PEN America:

penlogoNew York City, August 14, 2013—PEN American Center, the largest branch of the world’s leading literary and human rights organization, announced today the winners and runners-up of the 2013 PEN Literary Awards, the most comprehensive literary awards program in the country. This year’s recipients include Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Katherine Boo, former Poet Laureate Robert Hass, acclaimed playwright Larry Kramer, co-editors of Mother Jones Monika Bauerlein and Clara Jeffery, sportswriter and NPR correspondent Frank Deford, who will receive a lifetime achievement award, debut novelist Sergio De La Pava, as well as many other notable emerging and established authors.

For more than 50 years, the PEN Literary Awards have honored many of the most outstanding voices in literature across such diverse fields as fiction, poetry, science writing, essays, sports writing, biography, children’s literature, translation, and drama. With the help of its partners, supporters, and judges, PEN will confer 16 distinct awards, fellowships, grants, and prizes in 2013, awarding nearly $150,000 to writers, editors, and translators.

Award winners and runners-up will be honored at the 2013 PEN Literary Awards Ceremony on Monday, October 21, 2013, at CUNY Graduate Center’s Proshansky Auditorium in New York City, featuring Master of Ceremonies Andy Borowitz.

“Every year PEN’s literary awards recognize the brightest lights in literary fiction and nonfiction and honor the sustained careers of writers who are distinguished in their fields, raising awareness for a diverse array of outstanding books,” said PEN President Peter Godwin. “These awards represent the best of PEN’s work in defense of free expression throughout the world—fighting censorship, promoting translations into English, and honoring both the new and well-known authors who make up the core of PEN as an organization. Their voices amplify our advocacy work. We owe a special thanks to our dedicated judges who demonstrate their critical acumen and discerning tastes in choosing such accomplished work each year from an ever-growing number of submissions. We are proud to honor the writers they have selected in this way.”

Added Alice Quinn, PEN Awards Committee Chair, “Every year, we are moved by the ardent labor on the part of our distinguished judges and by the citations written by them. This is the praise and recognition that achievement of the first order merits, and the joy and satisfaction the winners and shortlisted writers express is felt by all involved.”

Book Bits is compiled several times a week by Malcolm R. Campbell, author of the Vietnam-era contemporary fantasy “The Sailor.”

Available on Nook

Available on Nook


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: